I’m going on a diabetic diet.

For years, I have made a living keeping people on diets. Popular diets mostly, Zone, South Beach, Weight Watchers, as well as the occasional doctor-perscribed diet. And I have to admit I have a pretty good track record at this – if my clients lose or maintain their weight, if they live healthier lives because of what I cook, I’m a hero.

Now and then, I run into what I call the “serial dieter”. They bounce from on diet-of-the-month to another, hoping to find the miracle diet and unwilling or unable to modify their own behavior.  These clients I move to a diabetic diet – it’s healthier and it tastes great. And that I prepare it for them, they get to all but eliminate the angst of “dieting”.

My wife and I are about to modify our own eating behavior and start on a diabetic diet. Yes, I anticipate some initial shock – both of love sweets and snacks, and I one have yet to see a baked good I didn’t regard as a close personal friend.  Over the coming months, I’ll share some of the recipes I’m preparing and keep you updates on my weight loss progress.

Here are two recipes that are in our near future.

Curried Shrimp
Serves 4

2T butter
1/4C chopped onion
1 small clove garlic, minced
1C milk, nonfat
2T AP flour
1/2t salt
1/2t curry powder
1/8t freshly ground pepper
1 pound raw medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
1C Jasmine rice, cooked

Put on a pot of water to boil for the shrimp.

Melt better in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Saute the onion and garlic until soft, about 5 minutes. Stir in the milk, flour, salt, curry and pepper. Whisk and simmer until sauce is thickened, about 5 minutes. Set aside.

Drop the shrimp in the boiling water, return to boil. Reduce the heat, simmer for about 4 minutes, or until they turn pink and are just cooked through…do not overcook. Drain.

Stir the shrimp into the curry sauce, heat thoroughly. Taste and adjust the seasonings. Serve over rice.

Calories: 248, sat fat: 3.85, carbs: 19,  sugar: 0, protein: 27.43

Source: American Diabetes Association
Photo: courtesy evernewrecipes.com

Mushroom-Beef Stroganoff
Serves 4

8oz. top round, well trimmed
3t evoo
1 large onion, finely chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
1T AP flour
2t paprika
14.5oz can beef broth, low salt if possible
2t Dijon
2 red bell peppers, sliced
1lb. mushrooms, slices
1/4t sour cream, lowfat
2T parsley, fresh, chopped

Slice the beef against the grain into thin strips. Heat 1t of the oil in a skillet over high heat. Brown the beef in batches, transferring each to a plate. Add 1t oil, then saute the onion until golden brown. Add garlic, flour and paprika, cook, stirring for another minute. Add the broth, mustard, beef and any accumulated juices. Bring to a boil, cover, and reduce to a simmer. Cook on stove for about 90 minutes.

Meanwhile, saute the peppers, then add the mushrooms and cook, stirring, until the mushroom liquid has evaporated, about 5 minutes. Season with s&p.

Using a pressure cooker, follow the above, browning in the cooker. Bring to a boil, cover and cook for about 40 minutes. Serve over egg noodles…if you must.

Calories: 209, sat fat: 1.49, carbs: 17.82, sugars: 0, protein: 18.98

Source: “Eating Well With Diabetes” cookbook
Photo: courtesy, recipe.com

Kent McDonald is a Certified Personal Chef, living and working in Phoenix, AZ (c) All Rights Reserved, 2012

Leave a comment